|

Kenmore Elite 12783 dishwasher

 
Approximate retail price:
$1070
Summary: This Kenmore conventional dishwasher has
  • A soil sensor.
  • An adjustable upper rack.
  • A delayed-start feature.
  • A stainless-steel interior.
  • Some hidden controls.
  • Adjustable tines.
  • Ample flatware slots.
Dividing line
Community icon48 people have reviewed this model.
Type: Conventional dishwashers
User Reviews
User Reviews

 
4.0
Whirlpool-made Product
8/15/2015
Pros
Attractive Design
Cleans Well
Easy To Load
Energy Efficient
Quiet
Simple Controls
Cons
Best Uses
Comment:
I replaced a top of the line Bosch that I loved which gave us 7 years of great service. The Kenmore will be an experiment in that it was half the price of the Bosch. After installing it, I can say that the Kenmore build quality is no where near the quality of the Bosch. The Kenmore functions well and is reasonably quiet... if it lasts 7 years then I will consider it a good buy.
How long have you owned it:
A month or less
Bottom Line
Yes, I would recommend this to a friend.

 
1.0
Unreliable-No spare parts...
8/3/2015
Pros
Cleans Well
Easy To Load
Quiet
Simple Controls
Cons
Unreliable
Best Uses
General Purpose
Comment:
Bought this dishwasher back in November 2013. Well 17 months later it decided not finish the rinse cycle and hung up. Luckily it was still under parts warranty. So after 1 week waiting for the repairman just to look at it we needed 2 parts. A fill valve and a new control board.<br />We got the fill valve a week later but now we've been told the control board is on back order until September!! This broke in June. You couldn't even fix this if you had bought an extended warranty! This is one of their top rated and popular models and no spare parts... Not a good business model.
How long have you owned it:
More than six months
Bottom Line
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

 
1.0
Why does CR continued recommend this product? Very Faulty
7/23/2015
Pros
Cleans Well
Energy Efficient
Quiet
Cons
Unreliable
Best Uses
General Purpose
Comment:
We purchased a similar model as reviewed (Our model Number# 665.1278) in July 2013. The computer control went out in June 2014 and replaced under warranty after multiple trips by the appliance repair service. Same issue has occurred again in July 2015. We have had the detergent dispenser replaced in September 2014 and the basket wheels replaced several time (but I did that myself). The dishwasher is just over two years old. Based on the other reviews our issue is a common one. The positives of the dishwasher is it is very quiet and cleans well. If it was not for the reliability issue - i would give this dishwasher 5 stars. If purchased please purchase extended warranty!
How long have you owned it:
More than six months
Bottom Line
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
The Kenmore Elite 12783 is part of the Dishwashers test program at Consumer Reports. The Kenmore Elite 12783 Dishwashers features and specs include Interior material, Self-cleaning filter, Sensor, Stainless/SS-look option, Adjustable upper rack, Ample flatware slots, Hidden controls. In our lab tests, Dishwashers models like the Kenmore Elite 12783 are reviewed on Noise, Overall score, Washing, Ease of use, Energy use, Cycle time (min.). Consumer Reports subscribers share reviews of the Kenmore Elite 12783 based on personal experience. The user reviews of the Kenmore Elite 12783 include star ratings, pros, cons, best uses, and a bottom line review to help guide your purchasing decision of the Kenmore Elite 12783.
See all Models
Nobody Tests Like
We Do
Our testers put 100s of products through their paces at our National Testing and Research Center. Learn more about how we test for:
Performance
Safety
Reliability
Learn more