|

Kenmore Elite 12783 dishwasher

 
Approximate retail price:
$1070
Summary: This Kenmore conventional dishwasher has
  • A soil sensor.
  • An adjustable upper rack.
  • A delayed-start feature.
  • A stainless-steel interior.
  • Some hidden controls.
  • Adjustable tines.
  • Ample flatware slots.
Dividing line
Community icon46 people have reviewed this model.
Type: Conventional dishwashers
User Reviews
User Reviews

 
1.0
Why does CR continued recommend this product? Very Faulty
7/23/2015
Pros
Cleans Well
Energy Efficient
Quiet
Cons
Unreliable
Best Uses
General Purpose
Comment:
We purchased a similar model as reviewed (Our model Number# 665.1278) in July 2013. The computer control went out in June 2014 and replaced under warranty after multiple trips by the appliance repair service. Same issue has occurred again in July 2015. We have had the detergent dispenser replaced in September 2014 and the basket wheels replaced several time (but I did that myself). The dishwasher is just over two years old. Based on the other reviews our issue is a common one. The positives of the dishwasher is it is very quiet and cleans well. If it was not for the reliability issue - i would give this dishwasher 5 stars. If purchased please purchase extended warranty!
How long have you owned it:
More than six months
Bottom Line
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

 
1.0
Buyer beware
7/18/2015
Pros
Attractive Design
Cleans Well
Quiet
Cons
Unreliable
Best Uses
Comment:
We purchased this dishwasher 1 year ago and have had it repaired 3 times and was told that if it broke again, it would be replaced. That was a joke, it broke again. We have had a major run around getting service people, one month waiting period to fix it. And they are not going to replace it. Don't bother with Sears. The service is a disaster.
How long have you owned it:
More than six months
Bottom Line
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.

 
1.0
Mediocre performance and bad reliability
7/15/2015
Pros
Attractive Design
Quiet
Cons
Doesn't Clean Thoroughly
Doesn't Dry Well
Long Cycle
Unreliable
Best Uses
General Purpose
Comment:
Dishwasher is quiet and stylish. This is where good things end. It needed two repairs right after delivery. One related to detergent compartment one to poor drying performance. Sears took care of that. Washing was OK, but not excellent and no better than my old dw. Drying performance has improved after repairs, but still remains subpar. Dishes aren't always completely dry and moisture remains on the tub walls. After ~15month drain pump separated from the drain pipe it is normally attached to and flooded kitchen floor and basement. Apparently cheap clamp that held pump got loose. This is the only thing that holds drain pump in place and designer used cheapest single use clamp that doesn't even have a screw. This is clearly a bad design and manufacture should have performed recall for that. After ~18m couple of plastic pieces from top shelf broke down. It's overall a disappointing experience, especially from top of the line appliance.
How long have you owned it:
More than six months
Bottom Line
No, I would not recommend this to a friend.
The Kenmore Elite 12783 is part of the Dishwashers test program at Consumer Reports. The Kenmore Elite 12783 Dishwashers features and specs include Self-cleaning filter, Sensor, Stainless/SS-look option, Adjustable upper rack, Ample flatware slots, Hidden controls, Interior material. In our lab tests, Dishwashers models like the Kenmore Elite 12783 are reviewed on Washing, Ease of use, Energy use, Cycle time (min.), Noise, Overall score. Consumer Reports subscribers share reviews of the Kenmore Elite 12783 based on personal experience. The user reviews of the Kenmore Elite 12783 include star ratings, pros, cons, best uses, and a bottom line review to help guide your purchasing decision of the Kenmore Elite 12783.
See all Models
Nobody Tests Like
We Do
Our testers put 100s of products through their paces at our National Testing and Research Center. Learn more about how we test for:
Performance
Safety
Reliability
Learn more