Board of Directors

From June 1, 2019 -- May 31, 2020

Our board is comprised of individuals with a passion for protecting and advancing the interests of consumers. Each board member serves a three-year term. Board service requires significant commitments of time and no compensation is provided.
Board Officers
Annette LoVoi
Retired Director, Financial Access and Asset Building Program National Appleseed
Thomas C. Voice
Vice Chair
Senior Associate Dean, College of Engineering, and Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering Michigan State University
Joaquín Alvarado
Executive Director, Project Accelerate, The Seattle Times and Founder, StudioToBe
A. Yeşim Orhun, Ph.D.
(as of October 18, 2019)
Associate Professor of Marketing, Michael R. and Mary Kay Hallman Fellow, and Associate Professor of Information, University of Michigan Ross School of Business
Deborah A. Cowan, CPA
(through October 18, 2019)
Chief Financial Officer & Treasurer NPR
Board Members
Marcia S. Aronoff
(through October 16, 2019)
Retired Senior Vice President for Programs Environmental Defense Fund
Barak Berkowitz
(through September 30, 2019)
Director of Operations and Strategy MIT Media Lab
Kathleen Engel
Research Professor of Law
Suffolk University
Joanne Hovis
President CTC Technology & Energy
Willie E. May, Ph.D.
(as of October 16, 2019)
Vice President for Research and Economic Development and Professor of Chemistry Morgan State University
Edmund Mierzwinski
Senior Director, Federal Consumer Programs United States Public Interest Research Group
Russell G. Noles
(as of October 16, 2019)
Retired Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer Nuveen
Willard P. Ogburn
Senior Fellow National Consumer Law Center
Betsy D. Scolnik
Digital and Communications Strategist
Micah L. Sifry
Co-founder and Editorial Director
Personal Democracy Media
Calvin Sims
President and CEO
International House
Ellen Taus
Retired Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer The Rockefeller Foundation
Marta L. Tellado, Ph.D.
President & CEO
Consumer Reports