Consumer Reports Annual Report 2017
Board of Directors
Our board is comprised of individuals with a passion for protecting and advancing the interests of consumers. Each board member serves a three-year term. Board service requires significant commitments of time, and no compensation is provided.
Board Officers
Diane Archer
Founder and President
Just Care
Vice Chair
Annette LoVoi
Financial Access and Asset Building Director
National Appleseed
Marcia Aronoff
Retired Senior Vice President for Programs
Environmental Defense Fund
Deborah A. Cowan
Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer
Board Members
Joaquin Alvarado
The Center for Investigative Reporting
Robert E. Baensch
Baensch International Group Ltd.
R. Anthony Benten
(served through
Nov. 1, 2016)
Senior Vice President and Corporate Controller
The New York Times
Carol Izumi
(served through
Oct. 13, 2016)
Clinical Professor of Law
University of California
Hastings College of Law
Heather McGhee
Edmund Mierzwinski
Consumer Program Director
United States Public Interest Research Group
Craig Newmark
craigslist and
Willard P. Ogburn
Senior Fellow
National Consumer Law Center
A. Yesim Orhun
(as of Oct. 13, 2016)
Assistant Professor
Ross School of Business
University of Michigan
Martin Schneider
Founder and CEO
Health Pages
Betsy D. Scolnik
Content Development, Distribution, Digital and Communications Strategist
Micah Sifry
Co-founder and Executive Director, Civic Hall
Co-founder, Personal Democracy Media
Latanya Sweeney
(as of Oct. 13, 2016)
Professor of Governance and Technology and
Director of the Data Privacy Lab
Harvard University
Ellen Taus
(as of Feb. 2, 2017)
Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer
The Rockefeller Foundation
Thomas C. Voice
Professor of Environmental Engineering and Associate Dean for Administrative Affairs
College of Engineering
Michigan State University
Thomas A. Wathen
Vice President
Environmental Group
The Pew Charitable Trusts
Marta L. Tellado, Ph.D.
ex officio Board member
President & CEO
Consumer Reports